Scottish Premier League Football

Scottish Premier League Football Team

The Scottish Premier League was formed in 1998. In earlier years, it was known simply as the Scottish League. All the Scottish Premier League champions and runners-up since the league began in the 1998/99 season are listed below.

Scottish Premier League Champions

  • 1998/99: Champions – Rangers; Runners-up – Celtic
  • 1999/2000: Champions – Rangers; Runners-up – Celtic
  • 2000/01: Champions – Celtic; Runners-up – Rangers
  • 2001/02: Champions – Celtic; Runners-up – Rangers
  • 2002/03: Champions – Rangers; Runners-up – Celtic
  • 2003/04: Champions – Celtic; Runners-up – Rangers
  • 2004/05: Champions – Rangers; Runners-up – Celtic
  • 2005/06: Champions – Celtic; Runners-up – Hearts
  • 2006/07: Champions – Celtic; Runners-up – Rangers
  • 2007/08: Champions – Celtic; Runners-up – Rangers
  • 2008/09: Champions – to be decided Runners-up – to be decided

Scottish Premier League 2008/09

The following 12 clubs will compete as Scottish Premier League Football Teams in the 2008/09 season:

  • Celtic
  • Rangers
  • Hearts (Heart of Midlothian)
  • Hibernian
  • Aberdeen
  • Kilmarnock
  • Hamilton
  • Motherwell
  • Dundee United
  • Inverness CT
  • St Mirren
  • Falkirk

Who will be the Champion Scottish Premier League Football Team for 2008/09?

Leading Scottish Premier League Teams

GLASGOW, UNITED KINGDOM - MARCH 29: Kevin Thomson of Rangers tackles Georgios Samaras of Celtic during the Scottish Premier League match between Rangers and Celtic at Ibrox Stadium on March 29, 2008 in Glasgow, Scotland. (Photo by Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images)Two clubs stand out as the leading teams in the list of Scottish Premier League Football teams. One of either Celtic Football Club or Rangers Football Club, also known as the ‘Old Firm’, has won every Premier League champions since the league’s inception in 1998.

Celtic has won the Scottish Premier League title no less that six times, while Rangers has won the title four times. I doubt if you’ll find two more dominant teams in any football league around the world.

Celtics Scottish Premier League

Celtic Football Club also holds the record for the most points scored in a premier league season. This record stands at 72 points in the 1987/88 season, although it must be remembered that this was when a team only scored two points for a win. The scoring system changed towards the end of the 1990’s, and teams were awarded three pouts for each game they won. Yet again it is Celtic Football Club who holds the record for the most points scored in a Premier league season (using the new scoring system). This record stands at 103 points, which they attained in the 2001/02 season.